Frankie Uncovers Secret Depression

Standard

Last October, fans of ‘The Saturdays‘ were surprised to hear that one of their most squeaky clean girls was having a few personal problems at home. Frankie Sandford has spoken about her panic attacks, paranoia and general depression in the days leading up to her hospitalisation in the May issue of ‘Glamour‘ magazine.

In the article, she discusses how little things would set her off: “One night, I got upset because Wayne (Bride) hadn’t bought the right yoghurts. I manage to convince myself he didn’t know me at all. It set off this spiral of negative thinking – that if I disappeared, it wouldn’t matter to anyone. In fact, it would make everybody’s life easier. I felt that I was worthless, that I was ugly, that I didn’t deserve anything.”

“Every time I spoke to someone, I’d be thinking, “They probably think I’m a horrible person. Am I boring them? Do I look ugly?” I was so nervous, because I was “Frankie from ‘The Saturdays’“. I didn’t know if people would be horrible to me and say: “You’re in a successful girl band, you’ve got this great boyfriend, he’s got loads of money. But nobody judged me. Nobody thought I was weird. I did lose myself, but I feel like me again now. But I try not to put pressure on myself – it’s unrealistic, no one is 100 per cent happy all of the time.”

The singer is the face of the magazine’s new ‘Hey, It’s OK‘ campaign, and is hoping that her knowledge of depression will help other sufferers.

Leave a Reply

