Why Nicki Minaj Quit Twitter

Standard

Nicki Minaj sparked outrage within her fan base last week when she deleted her Twitter account and forced one of her biggest online supporters, ‘NickiDaily‘, to shut theirs down too after a heated argument. She’s spent the last few days on a whirlwind promotional tour in London for her latest album, ‘Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded‘, and turned up to a ‘BBC‘ studio the other day to have a chat with Graham Norton about it all.

When he asked her if she’d consider returning to the social networking site, she replied: “I don’t know yet, I’m thinking about it. I miss my Barbz, please bear with me. A voice in my head told me to delete my Twitter and that’s what I did. I had 11 million followers and I hope they will wait for me. I reply all the time and get to know them by name and I have a really personal bond with them… not all 11 million, but at least 10 of them a day.”

But during a chat with ‘BBC Radio 1‘ presenter Tim Westwood, when he asked her the same question, she paused, and replied: “No. Tim, I can’t. I miss my Barbz. But I can’t come back. I just can’t. Don’t make me, Tim. Please don’t.” Her Barbz aren’t ditching her yet though; she met 250 hardcore fans at the ‘Whiteley Centre‘ branch of ‘HMV‘ on Thursday for a CD signing session.

Leave a Reply

