Gaga Responds To Madonna Jibe

Standard

Last month Madonna embarked on her ‘MDNA‘ world tour, and did a performance where she did a mash-up of her hit ‘Express Yourself‘ with Lady Gaga track ‘Born This Way.’ When the track was released early last year, many people compared Gaga‘s effort to that of the former Queen of Pop, when in fact that don’t sound remotely similar!

Lady Gaga hasn’t done the same on her tour, and has chosen the high road. During a performance in New Zealand the other night, she took a verbal swipe at her during a break between songs: “It sometimes makes people feel better about themselves to put other people down or make fun of them or maybe make mockery of their work. And that doesn’t make me feel good at all. That just makes me feel like I’m not being a good human being. I don’t even want to fight back because it’s more important to me to keep writing music. Because that’s really all I care about, is the music… things are really different than they were 25 years ago, and that’s what makes ‘Born This Way‘ so relevant for me. We’re socially in a different place and it’s OK, we don’t have to all slice and hate each other anymore.”

She also told Australia‘s version of ‘The Sunday Telegraph‘ that music is her top priority: “I always say that my music is my husband. It is my absolute life and soul. I wake up in the morning with tears in my eyes and I get inspired to write new songs. I was born to make music and I was born to perform.”

Leave a Reply

