David Walliams Tried Suicide At 12

Standard

Little Britain‘ co-creator and comedy genius David Walliams has written in his new book, ‘Camp David‘, about his 1st suicide attempt aged 12 at a Scout camp.

“I walked up the muddy bank of the stream, put the noose around my neck, then launched myself off the bank. I felt the rope tighten and crush my neck. My eyes started watering and I choked, feeling as if I was going to throw up. My feet skimmed the bank and dragged in the cold stream. I was too tall. I tried other positions but it was impossible, so I removed the rope from around my neck and hid in the woods. Now it was dark.”

Later on, he took an overdose of painkillers aged 18, and slit his wrists after a difficult break-up in his early 30s.

Leave a Reply

