Gwen: “I Never Had To Grow Up”

Standard

Gwen Stefani has been interviewed by Jonathan Van Meter for the January 2013 edition of ‘Vogue‘ magazine about never having to grow up, and the responsibilities that motherhood entails.

“I’ve never had to grow up in a way. When you think about it, we were in college together, and then we made our first record, and then we just took off and stayed in this bubble. Time kind of stops when you’re in a band. It’s this suspended childhood, and it’s really awesome, that part of it. But then when you have a family of your own, it forces you to go into the adult world a little bit more.”

“I did my first solo record and went on tour while I was pregnant. I would want to throw up during certain songs. Certain outfits would make me sick. It was torture. I toured until I was 4.5 months pregnant, showing. I came home and had Kingston, and when he was 8 months old, I went back on the road. I nursed him for 14 months, so I would literally do my hair and makeup, go back to the bus, nurse him, put him down, and walk out onstage. And I did that for 100 shows. I did the solo thing, but I felt like I was trying to play a character in a way, this ‘Alice in Wonderland‘ pretend version of myself. But this, being in ‘No Doubt‘, is really who I am.”

Leave a Reply

