Lauren Goodger Reveals Recent Cervical Cancer Scare After Test

Standard

Former ‘The Only Way Is Essex‘ ‘star’ Lauren Goodger has revealed to ‘The Mirror‘ that she had a very major health scare 5 years ago which has led her to become heavily involved with cervical cancer charities.

“When people really have a go at me, I remind myself how lucky I am. I went for my usual routine smear test and they found abnormal cells. I needed to have a colposcopy, a procedure where they look at what’s going on and then treat it. The first thing that I thought was, I’m gonna die. I’ve got cancer. I was frightened about what they might find and I was nervous about the procedure. It was quite painful even though they gave me a local anaesthetic. Afterwards I bled for a while and felt weak. In my case, they were able to laser the abnormal cells away.”

“I was so relieved but I worried for ages that it hadn’t gone away and that something bad was going to happen. I had to go back every 6 months for a smear test. Now I just have one every year and, thank God, it all seems to be clear. So when the bullies are at their worst, thinking about what happened makes me realise how small-minded they really are.”

Leave a Reply

