The End. ‘My Chemical Romance’ Call It Quits After 12 Years Together

Standard
From this...

From this…

Another day, another band announce that they’re splitting up… but this time I really care. New Jersey-born band ‘My Chemical Romance‘ broke my heart when I read on Twitter (drunk) at 3am today that they are now calling it quits after over 12 years together.

The 4-piece, who provided many an anthem of my adolesence, have kept off the radar the last few years, not touring very much, and only releasing small EPs, with their most recent release being the ‘Conventional Weapons‘ series. They were founded in 2001 by Gerard Way; he re-evaluated his career path after witnessing the horror of 9/11 himself- he decided he wanted to make music that might change the world a little.

To this...

To this…

He, Mikey Way, Ray Toro and Frank Iero issued an emotional joint statement on their official website yesterday: “Being in this band for the past 12 years has been a true blessing. We’ve gotten to go places we never knew we would. We’ve been able to see and experience things we never imagined possible. We’ve shared the stage with people we admire, people we look up to, and best of all, our friends. And now, like all great things, it has come time for it to end. Thanks for all of your support, and for being part of the adventure.” Gerard later posted on Twitter: “Beyond any sadness, what I feel the most is pride.” Bandmate Frank added: “Things that should be simple and easy rarely ever are.”

In recent years all members have gotten married, started families, and persued different projects. It is not yet known how far they were into recording their 5th studio album, and if any of these tracks will be released incomplete. I am so devastated- they were the first rock band that I remember loving, and I actually developed quite an unhealthy in my early teens! (I have listened to them since I was around 11/ 12). They may have lost a couple of members along the way, but they have gained a legion of loving fans who will no doubt be mourning in their today. ‘So long and goodnight….’

One response »

  1. Absolutely devastated – I think I am not the only one, who woke up this morning and wished that this was a bad dream, but alas, it’s not 😦 its so sudden and out of the blue and took everyone by surprise. Lynz (Gerard’s wife) also posted something earlier on Twitter about it all. My Chemical Romance, will always be in my heart, I’ll never stop loving them and will follow and support each member, with whatever career path they choose to take!!

Leave a Reply

