‘This Morning’ Presenter Phillip Schofield Admits Drug-Dabbling Past

Standard

GordonTheGopherPhillipSchofieldPA270412This Morning‘ presenter Phillip Schofield got his big break in TV in the 80s working on kids TV shows, and understandably had quite a clean cut image. Until now the presenter has never publicly spoken about his wild partying days, but in an interview conducted by friend and co-host Holly Willoughby for ‘Hunger‘ magazine, he sheds some light into his drug and drink-filled past.

The so-called ‘silver fox of TV’ enthuses: “It wasn’t a case of hiding it. I did the same as everybody else. I was a lad; we partied a bit, but I didn’t hide anything. It’s just that nobody bothered to look in the right place. You have to remember that doing kids TV then, you were expected to be the son of Enid Blyton, and that was very difficult. Now you can be much more open, and have a proper life. But then, it was almost, “Oh, you’ve got a girlfriend. What type of girl is she?” But my mates and I very quickly realised: don’t go in to central London and have a wild time. By the way, when I say partying, my weakness has always been booze. I never got much into drugs, because I wasn’t very good at it. We were simply getting leathered in Chiswick where we lived at the time. Everybody knew us and nobody was bothered, and nobody would tell. So I got away with it.”

Leave a Reply

