Brave Angelina Jolie Speaks About Double Mastectomy Operation

Standard

1Hollywood actress Angelina Jolie has written an article for the ‘New York Times‘, which has been published today, confirming that she has undergone a double mastectomy operation. In the article titled ‘My Medical Choice‘, she explains that she made the decision after hearing some scary statistics about the chances of her developing breast or ovarian cancer:

“My doctors estimated that I had an 87% risk of breast cancer and a 50% risk of ovarian cancer, although the risk is different in the case of each woman. Once I knew that this was my reality, I decided to be proactive and to minimize the risk as much I could. I made a decision to have a preventive double mastectomy. For any woman reading this, I hope it helps you to know you have options. I want to encourage every woman, especially if you have a family history of breast or ovarian cancer, to seek out the information and medical experts who can help you through this aspect of your life, and to make your own informed choices.”

“I can tell my children that they don’t need to fear they will lose me to breast cancer. During that time I have been able to keep this private and to carry on with my work. But I am writing about it now because I hope that other women can benefit from my experience. Cancer is still a word that strikes fear into people’s hearts, producing a deep sense of powerlessness. But today it is possible to find out through a blood test whether you are highly susceptible to breast and ovarian cancer, and then take action.”

Leave a Reply

