Renée Zellweger’s dramatic facial transformation has fans choking on their Bloody Mary’s

Standard
Renée Zellweger’s dramatic facial transformation has fans choking on their Bloody Mary’s

Bridget Jones is the one literary character I have always felt an affinity towards; the no- BS spouting, champion feminist shocked me with her casual use of the term “emotional fuckwit” at first when reading the books as a tween, and her friendly face and potty mouth had me in stitches, time and time again.

Of course the actress that portrayed BJ (hehe, sorry), was Renée Zellweger (a decade ago), who certainly did Helen Fielding’s creation justice when the story was transferred to the silver screen, has never been the most public of figures, and her actual personality differs certainly from that of Bridget. She is the woman, after all, who managed to marry with minimal media attention by eloping to a beach in 2005; despite several other lesser- known roles, she has spent the majority of recent years in a love cocoon with partner Doyle Bramhall, and has made few public appearances.

So when she stepped out at Elle Women in Hollywood awards on Monday, the fans waiting along the red carpet had the shock of their lives when Renée turned up. The woman is barely recognisable, and has since venomously denied having plastic surgery to alter her appearance, but the transformation is honestly shocking.

In a statement to ‘People’ magazine, the 45 year old defended her looks by saying: “It seems the folks who come digging around for some nefarious truth, which doesn’t exist won’t get off my porch until I answer the door. I’m glad folks think I look different! I’m living a different, happy, more fulfilling life, and I’m thrilled that perhaps it shows. My friends say that I look peaceful. I am healthy.”

Bloody hell, I feel like I need a Bloody Mary (or 12) after this- can she have her old, hilarious face back please?!

Leave a Reply

