Selena Gomez Receiving Chemotherapy For Lupus

Standard

In 2013 Disney fans were gossiped within their community about the possibility of Selena Gomez having a substance abuse problem, a la Demi Lovato, her friend. She cancelled her Asian and Australian tour, and then entered a rehab facility. Upon her cancellation of the tour, she wrote to her fans: “My fans are so important to me and I would never want to disappoint them. But it has become clear to me and those close to me that after many years of putting my work first, I need to spend some time on myself in order to be the best person I can be. To my fans, I sincerely apologize and I hope you guys know how much each and every one of you mean to me.”

After all this time, she has eventually confirmed the genuine cause for her rehabilitation- she is undergoing chemotherapy treatment for the condition lupus. In an exclusive deal with Billboard magazine, she confides: “I wanted so badly to say: ‘You guys have no idea. I’m in chemotherapy. You’re assholes’. I locked myself away until I was confident and comfortable again. I’ve been working since I was seven. I’ve been a Unicef ambassador since I was 17. It’s so disappointing that I’ve become a tabloid story.”

She has just released the first dates for the US and Canadian leg of her new Revival tour, an album which she will release tomorrow. I hope all those that have criticised her changing body size lately see really what has been going on behind the scenes!

Leave a Reply

