Jennifer Lawrence discusses Hollywood gender pay gap

Standard

Screen-Shot-2013-12-10-at-10.18.02-AM

Jennifer Lawrence plays a confident, assertive feminist character as Katniss Everdeen in The Hunger Games series, and these traits are often noticed in her own off-screen personality. The Oscar-winning actress is an activist within young Hollywood for equal pay between the sexes, and earlier this year wrote a piece for Lenny (a feminist newsletter) on the topic. When the infamous Sony email leak happened last year, Lawrence discovered that her male co-stars of a similar acting calibre were earning considerably more than herself on film American Hustle, and she didn’t want to let it go unnoticed by the press.

At a press event for the franchise’s final film offering in LA this weekend, she continued to consider the implications of the pay gap: “It was more of how did my mentality get in my own way of fighting just as hard as the men to get a better deal. I would love to straighten up that I wasn’t writing about not making as much as my male co-stars, as complaining about that I wasn’t getting paid more because I’m a woman. I hoped to just write more about how my own fears of how am I going to be portrayed, or how am I going to look, or how will people judge me. That got in my way when obviously the men in the movie don’t think that way. Thank you for completely making my point that if a woman goes and speaks up, and is assertive and has a voice, she’s going to be called a brat. I just don’t see a man being called a brat.”

Lawrence is also having to come to terms with eschewing her bow and arrow and mockingjay pin, and taking the next step in her film career now The Hunger Games is due to end: “Honestly, it’s a job. I really love acting, so I really just think of myself as a working woman. I think it will be pretty bizarre when the movie is finally out and… everything is officially done.I didn’t really feel that I said goodbye to her [Katniss]. There were a few years of getting used to it, your entire world changes. I have a new normal now, I feel very stable and normal and happy. But the pressure… you just can’t think about it. I hope I’ve grown up.”

Leave a Reply

