Justin Bieber admits that fame nearly destroyed him

Standard

justinbieber-mother

Justin Bieber was once a baby-faced crooner discovered on YouTube, but his fame rocketed pretty fast, and he is now one of the biggest male artists in the world, unbelievably, despite his table flipping and weed smoking bad boy habits. As much as we’d all love to deny it, ‘What Do You Mean?‘ and ‘Sorry‘, his latest offerings, really aren’t bad tracks. His fourth album ‘Purpose‘ is released any day, and he has decided to mark the occasion by an extensive interview with Billboard.

He admits that over the last few years, his Mum Pattie Mallette, who had Justin when she was in high school, was highly disappointed by his behaviour: “I was distant because I was ashamed. I never wanted my mom to be disappointed in me and I knew she was. We spent some time not talking, so it takes time to rebuild that trust. She’s living in Hawaii now, so it’s hard, but getting better. She’s an amazing woman and I love her.” Meanwhile, things are slightly better with his Dad, Jeremy Bieber: “He was immature. He left for like a year when I was about 4, went to British Columbia, came back on Father’s Day. I remember my Mom said, ‘If you’re going to be here, you have to be here.’ There’s a misconception that he’s this deadbeat dad, but he has been in my life since. I was with him on weekends and Wednesdays.”

As for the bad boy front he puts on, he claims that those days are over: “Enough with the Justin Bieber Show. I want to veer away from the self-centered attitude. I’m just focused on the people who have been there since the start, on people who are taking the journey now. I want them to feel like we’re doing this together. I wouldn’t suggest being a child star. It’s the toughest thing in the world. I want people to be more kind to young celebrities. Like Kylie Jenner. Look at her world: She has been living on TV since she was a kid. Every time she’s looking around she sees a camera, and that’s affecting how she’s thinking and how she’s perceiving people and why she has to do certain things … Situations that happen taint your mind, especially in this industry. Especially for girls. Everything is so based on people’s looks and stuff … Look at the statistics on how many child stars have crumbled and turned out to be wack jobs. It’s because — it’s f**ked, bro, this lifestyle. It might seem awesome from the outside, but I’m struggling. Certain things broke my trust with people. Situations happen that taint your mind. I started going through the motions. I felt like people were judging me all the time. I came out alive. I came out swinging. But I was close to letting fame completely destroy me.”

Leave a Reply

